Diary: Spark Sessions

When I read fashion blogs or browse through Instagram, I just marvel over the brilliant photos that some of these girls take. The brightness, the colours, the creativity, and the overall atmosphere they create. On behalf of my internship, Rent frock Repeat, I was fortunate enough to attend a Spark Sessions photography workshop held and attended by some of these fabulous Canadian bloggers. It was sponsored by 1 Milk 2 Sugars PR, which has the nicest office space! I left this incredible workshop with some new friends, some tricks of the trade, and a whole lot of inspiration.

Spark Sessions are a collaborative effort of Toronto fashion and beauty bloggers, with the desire to create a sense of community in the local blogosphere. They will be running several workshops on a variety of topics of great interest to bloggers who would like to up their game.

DiarySparkSessions.jpg

We were students for the hilarious and multi-talented Casey Palmer, who taught us about the settings on our cameras, and how to take full advantage of them. He also gave us a small tutorial on Photoshop and taught us about some apps we can get for editing photos on our smartphone. I even downloaded one of them and it was fabulous!

We were also students for the gorgeous Natalie Ho, a DIY and lifestyle blogger who has the most incredibly refined and detailed eye I’ve ever encountered. She gave us some tips for styling photos, although I don’t know that any of us could reach her calibre! She creates such beautiful pictures, but is also quite talented, so it’s not surprising that she’s had the success that she has. We had an opportunity to play with some props after listening to her advice, which was so fun!

PhotoPractice.jpg

I met a diverse range of up-and-coming bloggers who taught me that, once again, Canada has the nicest, most supportive plethora of fashion enthusiasts. I was so honoured to meet everyone that I did, and loved the instant connections we all made as a result of our similar goals. I hope that one day, I’ll be able to attend more sessions and maybe even contribute to the incredible atmosphere Spark Sessions is creating in Toronto.

 

“Diary” will become a weekly Monday segment, where I write about things that I discover and fun updates on life’s happenings.

Leave a Reply

